02 August 2011

From Prince Vault
Jump to: navigation, search
30 July 2011   < < < Tour Overview All Shows > > >   3 August 2011

Welcome 2 America: Euro Tour 2011
2 August 2011
Venue Oslo Spektrum
City, Country Oslo, Norway
Band Prince (vox, guitar, percussion), John Blackwell (drums), Ida Nielsen (bass, vox), Morris Hayes (keyboards), Cassandra O’Neal (keyboards, vox), Andy Allo (guitar, vox), Shelby J. (vox)
Guest(s) Maceo Parker (saxophone)
Songs Additional Songs Remarks / Personnel

Purple Rain incl. thunder FX intro & Feel Better, Feel Good, Feel Wonderful chant
D.M.S.R. Arrow.png incl. Feel Better, Feel Good, Feel Wonderful chant w/ Maceo Parker
Pop Life Arrow.png incl. Scrapple From The Apple [Int] w/ Maceo Parker
Musicology incl. Tighten Up (instrumental) [Int], (EyeBlue.png Like) Funky Music & Feel Better, Feel Good, Feel Wonderful chants, Prince And The Band w/ Maceo Parker
Mountains Arrow.png w/ Maceo Parker
Everyday People w/ Maceo Parker
Come Together incl. Kissing My Love [Int] Shelby J. & Andy Allo co-lead vox, w/ Maceo Parker
The Look Of Love Andy Allo lead vox, w/ Maceo Parker, sans Prince
Crimson And Clover
Take Me With U Andy Allo co-lead vox
Raspberry Beret Arrow.png
Cream Arrow.png w/ Maceo Parker
Cool Arrow.png incl. Don’t Stop ’Til You Get Enough [Int] Shelby J. & Andy Allo on Don’t Stop ’Til You Get Enough. w/ Maceo Parker
If I Was Your Girlfriend w/ Maceo Parker, sans Andy Allo
Kiss w/ Maceo Parker, sans Andy Allo
Shortberry Strawcake Arrow.png incl. Feel Better, Feel Good, Feel Wonderful chant
The Bird Arrow.png incl. Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine chants w/ Maceo Parker
Jungle Love Arrow.png w/ Maceo Parker
A Love Bizarre Prince on piano, w/ Maceo Parker
based on a sampled loop of studio recording When Doves Cry
based on a sampled loop of studio recording Hot Thing w/ band backing
based on a sampled loop of studio recording Sign O’ The Times w/ band backing
based on a sampled loop of studio recording Nasty Girl [S] w/ Maceo Parker </small>
based on a sampled loop of studio recording Darling Nikki [S]
based on a sampled loop of studio recording I Would Die 4 U w/ band backing, w/ Maceo Parker
Make You Feel My Love Shelby J., Andy Allo, Ida Nielsen co-lead vox, sans Prince & The NPG male members

See here for index, code, and color legend

Show Facts
Advertised Start Time / Start Time Length Of Show Attendance/Capacity Ticket Prices

19:30 / 20:35 155 minutes (limited to) 8,000 / close to sold out NOK 1395.00 (+ NOK 50 = NOK 1445) / NOK 845.00 (+ NOK 40 = NOK 895) / NOK 595.00 (+NOK 30 = NOK 625)

  • This show was announced on 31 May 2011.
  • Tickets for this show went on sale 1 June 2011 at 9:00. There was pre-sale held from 31 May until 16:00.
  • Due to a terror attack in Oslo on Friday 22 July, this show was postponed until 2 August. The announcement was made around 23:00 Friday night the 22nd. The Oslo Spektrum is only a few hundred meters away from the area where a bomb went off. Tickets could also be reimbursed until 31 July 2011.
  • This show was initially sold out, but after being rescheduled, more tickets became available on 25 July 2011 at 15:00.
  • A sign was posted outside the venue that doors would open later than scheduled due to the late start of the soundcheck. Doors opened eventually at 19:25, only five minutes prior to the originally planned start time. The usual videos were already rotating once people got in.
  • Quite a few fans were invited on stage for D.M.S.R., the second song into the show, and remained on stage until Musicology, often dancing center stage and actually blocking view of the stage for people in the first rows. During The Bird in the first encore fans were asked on stage again and remained until I Would Die 4 U.
  • After the second encore and 155 minutes of showtime, the houselights stayed off for 15 - 20 minutes. But there was no third encore.
  • An audio only streaming clip of Come Together was placed on YouTube and via Andy Allo’s Facebook page after the show.
Soundcheck Support Act(s)

  • A 30 minute soundcheck started at 17:30. Mostly work was done on D.M.S.R. which was tried several times with Prince instructing the band. After that the intro of Shhh was done, before more takes on D.M.S.R..


30 July 2011   < < < 2 August 2011 > > >   3 August 2011
Prince Tour  ★  Rick James Tour ’80  ★  Dirty Mind Tour  ★  Controversy Tour  ★  1999 Tour  ★  Purple Rain Tour  ★  Parade Tour  ★  Sign O’ The Times Tour  ★  Lovesexy Tour  ★  Nude Tour  ★  Diamonds And Pearls Tour  ★  Act I  ★  Act II  ★  The Ultimate Live Experience  ★  Japan '96  ★  Love 4 One Another Charities Tour  ★  Jam Of The Year World Tour  ★  New Power Soul Tour  ★  New Power Soul Festival Tour  ★  Hit N Run Tour 00-01  ★  A Celebration  ★  One Nite Alone... Tour  ★  World Tour 2003  ★  Musicology Live 2004ever  ★  Támar Tour  ★  Per4ming Live 3121  ★  21 Nights In London : The Earth Tour  ★  Prince 20TEN Tour  ★  Prince Live 2010  ★  Welcome 2 America Tour  ★  Welcome 2 America: Euro Tour 2011 ★  Welcome 2 Canada Tour  ★  Welcome 2 Australia Tour  ★  Live Out Loud Tour  ★  Hit And Run Part II  ★  Prince: Piano & A Microphone 2016